2017 Northland Secondary Schools Individual Winners

Posted: 22/05/17
Zoe Dykzeul from Huanui College and Cory Ferguson of Whangarei Boys High took out their respective titles last week at the Northland Secondary Schools Individual Championships held at Whangarei Squash Club.
Cory had a tough 5 set battle against Devlin Gurr (Whangarei Boys High) making a comeback after being down 2 sets, keeping calm and playing some great squash.  Zoe took her win in 4 sets against Annmarie Holst of Otamatea College, with Annmarie taking the 3rd set before Zoe came back strongly to take the 4th and the match.
Whangarei Girls High player Pippa Saunders was 3rd in the Girls Open, while Josh Smith of Whangarei Boys High took 3rd place in the Boys Open.
Lucy Stanley (Whangarei Girls High) and Blake Steele (Rodney College) won the Novice Division.
The Northland Secondary Schools teams event will be held on Thursday 22 June.
Girls Open
Winner – Zoe Dykzeul, Huanui College
2nd place – Annmarie Holst, Otamatea College
3rd place – Pippa Saunders, Whangarei Girls High School
Boys Open
Winner – Cory Ferguson, Whangarei Boys High School
2nd place – Devlin Gurr, Whangarei Boys High School
3rd place РJosh  Smith, Whangarei Boys High School
Girls Novice
Winner – Lucy Stanley, Whangarei Girls High School
2nd place – Abby Griffin, Whangarei Girls High School
3rd place – Zoe Palmer, Kamo High School
Novice Boys
Winner – Blake Steele, Rodney College
2nd place – Jack Hodgson, Otamatea College
3rd place – Aidan Henare, Rodney College