Northland Masters Squash Champs 2016

Posted: 21/08/16

Two new champions were crowned following a weekend of Masters Squash at Kamo this weekend.

Third seeded Eugene Venter – new to the Whangarei Squash Club this season, and one of the busiest players on the local tournament scene – conquered Kaitaia’s defending champion Hongi Laing in an entertaining four set final match for the men’s trophy.

In the ladies draw the defending champ was also unseated, when top seeded Karen Braddock, of the Papakura Squash Club defeated Fiona Moselen in a close five set battle.

Whangarei’s Bryce Phillips played some of his better squash this season, first putting paid to top seed Nicol Bekker, before winning the Men’s Division Two final against Gary Traill.

The Ladies Second Division was very evenly matched, with Sharon McDonald winning her semi-final against Catherine Powdrell 17-15 in the fifth, and pipping Whangarei clubmate at the post 15-13 in their deciding fifth set of the final.

Simon Cauty from Mid Western proved to be fresh enough at the end of the weekend to claim a finals victory over Kobus Abrie in the Mens Third Division.

Elisha Smith stormed back from a short retirement from competitive squash, beating Whangarei’s Robyn Burkhardt in the Third Division ladies final.

The Men’s Fourth Division proved to be a battle of the Jons, with Mid Western’s Jon Kirk overcoming Mangakahia’s Jon Kirby in Sunday’s final.

Ceres Sharp had a great introduction to tournament play, winning her way to the Ladies Fourth Division final where she beat Kamo clubmate Rachel Herbert.

Rachel Stratton’s luck came soon after the tournament was completed, when she won the $200 lucky cash prize, kindly donated by Angus MacDonald.

Full Results:

Ladies Division One:

Winner Karen Braddock

Runner Up Fiona Moselen

Third Delwyn Houlihan

Consolation Plate Julie Geange

 Ladies Division Two:

Winner Sharon McDonald

Runner UP Tracey Klaricich

Third Catherine Powdrell

Consolation Plate Michele Salmon

 Ladies Division Three:

Winner Elisha Smith

Runner Up Robyn Burkhardt

Special Plate Jo Mason

Plate Julie Tulei

Consolation Plate Debbie Shepherd

Ladies Division Four

Winner Ceres Sharp

Runner Up Rachel Herbert

Third Rachael Stratton

Consolation Plate Shona Thomas

Men’s Division One:

Winner Eugene Venter

Runner Up Hongi Laing

Third Geoff Parker

Consolation Plate David Collins

 Men’s Division Two:

Winner Bryce Phillips

Runner Up Gary Traill

Third Jerrie Coetzee

Consolation Plate Matt Nel

Men’s Division Three:

Winner Simon Cauty

Runner Up Kobus Abrie

Third JJ Stewart

Consolation Plate Gary Saunders

Men’s Division Four

Winner Jon Kirk

Runner Up Jon Kirby

Special Plate Wayne Brown

Plate Clarc Morris

Consolation Plate Willem Steenkamp

Chocolate Cake Raffle Kathryn Brown

Meat Raffle Gary Saunders

$200 Angus lucky players draw Rachel Stratton

Eugene Masters winner 2016Masters winner 2016