Results from Whangarei Open

Posted: 08/03/16

The first tournament in 2016 was held last weekend – the Whangarei Open, attracting good entries of over 70 players, with a fair few from the Waikato, Auckland, Kaitaia and local players.

Abbie Palmer had a big battle against Sacha Pou-Tito but came out the winner in a 5 setter, while in the mens open Luke Jones won in 4 against a competitive Brent Lewis.

There were a lot of juniors also playing in this tournament, which was a selection tournament for the Northland Junior Quadrangular Team.


Mens Open – Winner Luke Jones, Runner-Up Brent Lewis, 3rd Tyler Ranger

Womens Open – Winner Abbie Palmer, Runner-Up Sacha Pou-Tito, 3rd Annmarie Holst

Mens Div 1 – Winner Tom Taylor, Runner-Up Jerrie Coetze, 3rd Eugene Venter

Mens Div 2 – Winner Devlin Gurr, Runner-Up Riley-Jack Vette Blomquist, 3rd Dean Jones

Mens Div 3 – Winner Cory Ferguson, Runner-Up Freddie Jameson, 3rd Brennan Jolly

Mens Div 4 – Winner Elliot Hassen, Runner-Up Maz Saunders, 3rd Campbell Griffin

Womens Div 1 – Winner Kate Wauchop, Runner-Up Delwyn Houlihan, 3rd Vicki Ferguson

Womens Div 2 – Winner Robyn Burkhardt, Runner-Up Robyn Hammann, 3rd Annmarie Tyson

Junior Open – Winner Brylee Chapman, Runner-Up Pippa Saunders,  3rd Ruby Collins

Junior Div 1 – Winner Jordyn Chapman, Runner-Up Jacob Turner, 3rd Hayden Turner