Champion of Champions

The NZ Champion of Champions is a national event that ran for the first time in 2012

The Champion of Champions is a national event that ran for the first time in 2012.

The format is similar to that of the Super Champs, but played on an individual basis. District Champion of Champions events will be held in each district, where entrants will play off for the title of District Champion for each grade (A-F, men and women). These champions will also earn the right to represent their district at the National Champion of Champions event, at which the eleven District Champions in each grade will fight for the title of Champion of Champions in their grade.

The 2020 Northland  Champion of Champions will be held at Mangakahia Squash Club on September 4 to 6 (playing in grades) with the champions of each grade earning the right to represent Northland at the National Champion of Champions.

The 2020 National Champion of Champions will be held in Ohakune from October 9 – 11


2019 National Champion of Champions

Northland won 2 National Champion of Champions titles at the national tournament held in Ohakune.  Mangakahia’s Rachel Aratema-Owen won the D Grade ladies and Hayley Taylor the E Grade ladies.

Maz Saunders and Brad Moselen were both in their respective finals and put up great fights but in the end went down, with the other Northland players also having some great matches with the opportunity of meeting new people and enjoying a weekend away.

11 Northland players headed down to Ohakune to compete in this national tournament:

John Kuhn A Grade

Amy Brown B Grade

Logan Millar B Grade

Olivia Rhodes C Grade

Maz Saunders C Grade

Rachel Arameta-Owen D Grade

Brad Moselen D Grade

Hayley Rhodes E Grade

Josh Smith E Grade

Zoe Morgan F/J Grade

Andrew Booth F Grade

2018 National Champion of Champions

Northland won 2 titles at the National Champion of Champions last weekend which was once again a very successful and enjoyable event hosted by the Ohakune Squash Club.

Northland junior players Riley-Jack Vette-Blomquist took out the B grade mens title, while Olivia Rhodes is the D Grade ladies champion.

Alex Greatorex made the final of the F/J grade but went unfortunately went down in the final.  Catherine Powdrell (C grade ladies) and Finn Trimble (A Grade men) both placed 3rd with Shea Ferguson, (B ladies) Paul Roberts (E men) and Caitlin Guest (F/J ladies) all in 5th place.

Players from Northland, Auckland, Waikato, Eastern, Central, Southland and Canterbury travelled from far and wide to battle it out for national titles with all grades from F/J to A Grade all contested.

The Northland team was:

A Grade – Finn Trimble

B Grade – Shea Ferguson and Riley-Jack Vette Blomquist

C Grade – Catherine Powdrell and Andew Johnson

D Grade – Olivia Rhodes and Gary Saunders

E Grade – Hazel Smith and Paul Roberts

F/J Grade – Caitlin Guest and Alex Greatorex

2017 National Champion of Champions

Ruby Collins won the Womens D grade National Champion of Champions title at the national finals which were held at the Ohakune Squash Club.   Ruby played Central’s Darnell Watling in the final, playing some great squash and coming out the winner after a tough 5 sets.

Players from Northland, Auckland, Bay of Plenty, Waikato, Eastern, Central, Southland and Canterbury battled it out for titles with grades from F/J to A Grade all contested.

The Northland team who travelled down to this event were:

B Grade – Anna Moselen and Logan Miller

C Grade – Vicki Moselen and Cory Ferguson

D Grade – Ruby Collins and Ryan Morriss

E Grade – Brylee Chapman and Paddy Ferguson

F/J Grade – Caitlin Guest and Hayden Turner

Also having some good results were:

C grade men – Special plate winner Cory Ferguson

E Grade men – Special plate runner up Paddy Ferguson

F grade men – Hayden Turner 6th place

B grade women – Anna Moselen 5th place

E grade womens – Brylee Chapman special plate winner

Picture:  Ruby playing Darnell in the final

2016 Event

Northland has three National Champion of Champion winners for 2016!

10 Northland players competed at the tournament which was held at the Putaruru Squash Club last weekend.

Keri Rhodes won the C Grade Mens title, it was a tough battle for him with Wellington’s James Gould, and with games going back and forth it was Rhodes who was able to clinch the win in an exciting 5 setter.

It was a battle of the opposite ends of the country with Ocean Shadbolt taking on Southlands Rachel Wilson.  This match also went back and forth with both players throwing everything on the line in the fifth, Ocean managed to take the D Grade ladies title in this enthralling five setter.

In the E Grade mens Casper Tyson claimed the win from Sam Fletcher of Central  after fighting back from losing the first game to take the win in 4.

Emma Tyson fought hard in her F/J Grade final but went down to Nicky Schrafft from Central in 4.




2015 Event

This was hosted by Squashgym at Palmerston North from 30 October to 1 November following Northland’s District final which was hosted by Kaitaia Squash Club on the 4 – 6 September.

We had 6 Northlanders making the long trek to Palmy to play in this event and we came away with 3 national titles!!  Congratulations to Ben Sweeny (C Grade Men’s Champion), Nirelle McDonald (C Grade Ladies Champion) and Tayla McDonald (E Grade Ladies Champion).

Champ of Champs winners 2015




2014 Results

The 2014 Champion of Champions National Finals was hosted by Tawa Squash Club from 31 October to 2 November.  While we had no winners this time, 3 of our Northland players made finals.

2013 Results

Northland players picked up three of the titles on offer at Champion of Champions National Finals this weekend.

The Champion of Champions National Finals, kindly sponsored by Head, were held at Burnside Squash Club and Squashways from 1-2 November, and attracted 95 entries from around the country.