2020 Northland Open results

Posted: 16/06/20

Abbie Palmer and Temwa Chileshe took out the 2020 Northland Open titles at the weekend

Abbie Palmer, formerly from Northland and now playing from the North Shore club in Auckland, took out the women’s title for an impressive 7th time in defeating Northland’s Sacha Pou-Tito in 3 in the final of the Womens Open.  Young up and coming junior Chelsea Traill from Kamo placed 3rd.

The Mens Open title was won by Temwa Chileshe from Squash XL in Auckland, he bet club mate and fellow professional player Joel Arscott in 3 sets in their final.  Top Northland junior Riley-Jack Vette-Blomquist came 3rd, winning an exciting 5 set battle against Auckland junior Jack Condor.

Although numbers were down this year, 8 players from Auckland made the trip up to Whangarei which was a welcome addition to the mens draws.  There was some great squash on display over the weekend with over 50 players competing at the Whangarei Squash Club in what was one of the first post-Covid tournaments in New Zealand.

In the Div 1 mens final Sam Dykzeul edged out Ned Saunders, while in the Div 1 ladies, Mangakahia’s Hayley Taylor won a tight 5 set battle against Kaitaia’s Michelle Hammond. Other division winners were Alex Greatorex (Mens Div 2), Troy Ruddell (Mens Div 3) and Matt Langford (Mens Div 4)

Thanks to the Whangarei Squash club for once again hosting a successful Northland Open.

Full Results

Mens Open

Winner Temwa Chileshe, Runner Up Joel Arscott, 3rd Riley-Jack Vette-Blomquist, Plate Max Trimble, Consolation Plate Logan Millar

Womens Open

Winner Abbie Palmer, Runner-Up Sacha Pou-Tito, 3rd Chelsea Traill, Plate Amy Brown, Consolation Plate Kate Wauchop

Womens Div 1

Winner Hayley Taylor, Runner Up Michelle Hammond, 3rd  Montana Vette-Blomquist, Plate Samantha Crow, Consolation Plate Ange Vette

Mens Div 1

Winner Sam Dykzeul, Runner Up Ned Saunders, 3rd Ari Welsh, Plate Hasan Pathan, Consolation Plate Max Conder

Mens Div 2

Winner Alex Greatorex, Runner Up Gary Traill, 3rd Daley Johnson, Plate Ethan Hare, Consolation Plate Alex de Roux

Mens Div 3

Winner Troy Ruddell, Runner Up Josh Smith, 3rd Liam Froggatt, Plate Matthew Came, Consolation Plate Liam Smith

Mens Div 4

Winner Matt Langford, Runner Up Steve Brown, 3rd Nahuel Racioppi