Northland Juniors selected in NZ World Junior Team

Posted: 22/05/24
Northland juniors Freddie Jameson and Flynn Venmore have both been selected in the New Zealand team for the 2024 World Junior Squash Championships which are being held in Houston, USA in July.
Freddie and Flynn are members of the Manaia Squash Club and have represented Northland numerous times.  We look forward to following their progress as they take on the best junior players in the world!
Article from Squash NZ:
A 12 strong New Zealand team has been named for the 2024 WSF World Junior Squash Championships to be held in Texas in July.
The team is made up of six junior males and six junior women, with New Zealand Junior Open winners Ollie Dunbar and Ella Lash headlining the squad.
“It’s really special to make the team,” said Dunbar.
“The exposure to players from all around the world is so good at a world event. I learnt a lot from watching everyone’s game styles last year and I’m looking forward to this year.”
The Junior World will run July 10-23 in Houston. This year’s championships comprise an individual as well as a team competition and will feature concurrent men’s and women’s team events for the first time in event history.
“We’re really pleased with this team,” said Squash New Zealand Performance Operations Co-Ordinator Catherine Logan-McLeod.
“There’s a great mix of some of our more experienced young athletes as well as some exciting new talent, and we’re looking forward to great competition.”
“The Juniors Worlds are a key part of our development programme,” added Squash New Zealand National Performance Coach Jonathan Kemp.
“It’s a really high-class competition and it’ll be great for our athletes to test themselves against the best young squash players in the world.”
At last year’s championships, which took place in Melbourne, Australia, Egypt’s Amina Orfi won her second individual title and led Egypt to victory in the team event, while Hamza Khan ended Pakistan’s 37-year wait for a title in the men’s individual event.
The full New Zealand team is as follows:
1. Ollie Dunbar
2. Freddie Jameson
3. Charlie Prince
4. Chris Hebberd
5. Flynn Venmore
6. Liam Linton
1. Ella Lash
2. Anabel Romero Gemmell
3. Maiden-Lee Coe
4. Ella Hill
5. Emma Merson
6. Moriya Karati