Penguin Northland Open Results

Posted: 01/07/17

Sacha Pou-Tito and Finn Trimble took out the 2017 Penguin Northland Open titles at the weekend, making it back to back titles for both of them after winning the titles last year.  This years event attracted over 85 entries and was held at the Whangarei Squash Club.  Nine players from the USA on a squash tour in New Zealand with coach Paul Hornsby added an international flavour.

Sacha Pou-Tito, top seed in the Ladies Open, won her final in 4 close games against 2nd seed Zoe Dykzeul.  Zoe made a strong start, taking the first game before Sacha took the second set leveling the scores at 1-1 and making Sacha work hard to close out the match. The 3rd and 4th place in the Women’s Open Division was played out between Annmarie Holst and Natalie Sayes with Annmarie taking the win in 4.

Top seed Finn Trimble defeated second seed Shaun Sansom in the Mens Open final, winning in 4 sets, with Finn taking the first 2 games before a fight back from Shaun in the 3rd game, with Finn sealing the match in the 4th.  Third place in the Men’s Open went to Mike Toothill,  part of the American group, who took his win in 4 over Max Trimble.

In other divisions, ex Northlander Daniel Clay took out the Mens Division 1 title, with Kamo’s Anna Moselen winning the ladies Division 1.

Division 2 mens winner was Whangarei’s Jack Johnson with Amy Brown from Mangakahia taking out the Ladies Division 2.

Mens Division 3 was won by Manaia’s Campbell Griffin while the Division 4 Mens winner was Jamie Hitchcock of Whangarei.

The Mixed Division 1 winner was Jacob Turner of Whangarei and Mixed Division 2 Kamo’s Jordyn Chapman.

Nicol Bekker won the $100 Senior Player series spot prize.  Full results below:

Full Results

Mens Open

Winner – Finn Trimble (Whangarei)

Runner Up – Shaun Sansom (Whangarei)

3rd place – Mike Toothill (USA)

Plate – Keri Rhodes (Manaia)

Consolation Plate – Ari Welsh (Whangarei)

Ladies Open

Winner – Sacha Pou-Tito (Whangarei/Mangakahia)

Runner-Up – Zoe Dykzeul (Whangarei)

3rd place – Annmarie Holst (Mangaturoto)

Plate – Miranda Harrison (Mangakahia)

Mens Division 1

Winner – Daniel Clay (Katikati)

Runner Up – Cory Ferguson (Mid-Western)

3rd place – Sam Dykzeul (Whangarei)

Plate – Gary Traill (Kamo)

Consolation Plate – Ned Saunders (Whangarei)

Mens Division 2

Winner – Jack Johnson (Whangarei)

Runner Up – Bryce Phillips (Whangarei)

3rd place – Rhyce Brittain-Clark (Kamo)

Plate – Freddie Jameson (Manaia)

Consolation Plate – Allan Inglis (Whangarei)

Mens Division 3

Winner – Campbell Griffin (Manaia)

Runner Up – Flynn Venmore (Manaia)

3rd place – Claude Shepherd (Kerikeri)

Plate – Wayne Brown (Mangakahia)

Consolation Plate – Mike Laing (Manaia)

Mens Division 4

Winner – Jamie Hitchcock (Whangarei)

Runner Up – Richard Eiger (Manaia)

3rd place – Ryan Perkinson (Whangarei)

Plate – William Steenekamp (Kamo)

Consolation Plate – Raymond Campbell (Whangarei)

Ladies Division 1

Winner – Anna Moselen (Kamo)

Runner-Up – Paula Francis (Hamilton)

3rd place – Tracey Klaricich (Whangarei)

Plate – Denese Gallagher (Mangakahia)

Consolation Plate – Catherine Powdrell (Kamo)

Ladies Division 2

Winner – Amy Brown (Mangakahia)

Plate – Chelsea Traill (Kamo)

Mixed Division 1

Winner – Jacob Turner (Whangarei)

Runner Up – Kathleen Hudson (Whangarei)

3rd place – Debbie Shepherd (Kerikeri)

Mixed Division 2

Winner – Jordyn Chapman (Kamo)

Runner Up – Tane Traill (Kamo)

3rd place – Hayley Rhodes (Manaia)