Pou-Tito and Trimble take out Northland Open titles

Posted: 30/06/16

Sacha Pou-Tito and Finn Trimble took out the Northland Open titles at the weekend.

The 2016 Northland Open Men’s title was won by Whangarei’s Finn Trimble who played top seed Brent Lewis in the final, winning in 4 sets, with the experienced Lewis taking out the first set but Trimble fighting back to win the next three.  3rd place in the Men’s Open went to Tyler Ranger, with a comfortable win over Panmure’s Richard van Rynbach.

The 2016 Northland Open Women’s title was also won by the 2nd seed, Northland’s Sacha Pou-Tito, taking the match in a close 4 sets against the top seeded Abbie Palmer in the final.   The 3rd and 4th place in the Women’s Open Division was played out between Sian Duggan and Kamo’s MacKenzie Johnson, and MacKenzie took 3rd placing with a 4 set win.

Finn and sacha northland open

Other winners in the divisions below included Whangarei’s Shayden Toka and the talented 11 year old Natalie Sayes from Remuera took out the Division 1 titles, both finals were tough 5 set battles.

Another talented 11 year old – Mason Smales from Henderson was the Division 2 mens winner, and Whangarei’s Sharon McDonald was the ladies Div 2 winner.

Division 3 winners were two junior players Daniel Clay, originally from Kaitaia and now living in Katikati, and Ella Holwell from Kamo, who won a tough 5 set battle against Mania’s Pippa Saunders.

Division 4 was also won by juniors – Cory Ferguson from Mid-Western won the mens with Kamo’s Ruby Collins taking out the ladies.

The Ladies Division 5 winner was Kamo junior Hannah Thomas and the mens was Mangakahia’s Wayne Brown who both faced close 5 setters in their finals.

The Junior Boys Division was won by Ethan Hare, with Manaia’s Lucy Stanley winning the Junior girls division.

Bryce Phillips won the $100 Angus player series spot prize while Pippa Saunders was the lucky winner of the $200 Angus sponsored cash prize.

 Results in Detail

 Mens Open

Winner – Finn Trimble

Runner Up – Brent Lewis

Special Plate – Tyler Ranger

Plate – Troy Dunn

Consolation Plate – Milton Brookland

Ladies Open

Winner – Sacha Pou-Tito

Runner Up – Abbie Palmer

Special Plate – MacKenzie Johnson

Plate – Annmarie Holst

Consolation Plate – Iyra Stewart

Mens Div 1

Winner – Shayden Toka

Runner Up – Nickolas Robinson

Special Plate – Sid Smales

Plate – Eugene Venter

Consolation Plate – Bruce Clay

Mens Div 2

Winner – Mason Smales

Runner Up – Jaron Steenson

Special Plate – Riley-Jack Vette-Blomquist

Plate – Ben Faris

Consolation Plate – Apa Fatialofa

Mens Div 3

Winner – Dan Clay

Runner Up – Aaron Cooze

Special Plate – Ned Saunders

Plate – Apa Fatialofa

Consolation Plate – Devlin Gurr

Mens Div 4

Winner – Cory Ferguson

Runner Up – Angus McDonald

Special Plate – Andrew Johnson

Plate – Brad Moselen

Consolation Plate – Freddie Jameson

Mens Div 5

Winner – Wayne Brown

Runner Up – Justin Tyson

Special Plate – Maz Saunders

Plate – Flynn Venmore

Consolation Plate – Paddy Ferguson

Womens Div 1

Winner – Natalie Sayes

Runner Up – Crystal Rhodes

Special Plate – Hayley Green

Plate – Kate Wauchop

Consolation Plate – Denise Guy

Womens Div 2

Winner – Sharon McDonald

Runner Up – Elizabeth Hudson

Special Plate – Michele Salmon

Plate – Anna Moselen

Consolation Plate – Annmarie Tyson

Womens Div 3

Winner – Ella Holwell

Runner Up – Pippa Saunders

Special Plate – Shea Ferguson

Plate – Lana Parkinson

Consolation Plate – Maddie Jameson

Womens Div 4

Winner – Ruby Collins

Runner Up – Joanne Mason

Special Plate – Anna Liddington

Plate – Renata Haupt

Consolation Plate – Emma Tyson

Womens Div 5

Winner – Hannah Thomas

Runner Up – Rachel Herbert

Special Plate – Jackie Savage

Plate – Gemma Coutts

Consolation Plate – Jenny Traill

Junior Boys

Winner – Ethan Hare

Runner Up – Hayden Turner

Special Plate – Jacob Turner

Plate- Tane Traill

Consolation Plate – Scott Slatter

Junior Girls

Winner – Lucy Stanley

Runner-Up – Abby Griffin