Results from Northland Open PSA

Posted: 16/06/19

Gabe Yam and Abbie Palmer win the 2019 Northland Open titles!

Results from Northland Open

Teenager Gabe Yam (Belmont Park) won his first PSA title at the Northland Open over the weekend, beating fellow Aucklander Anthony Lepper 11-6, 11-6, 11-7 in the men’s final at the Whangarei Squash Club.
Earlier Yam accounted for Sion Wiggin in his semifinal while Lepper beat Willz Donnelly in his semi.
Former Northlander, now North Shore player Abbie Palmer took out the women’s title defeating Northland’s Sacha Pou-Tito 14-12, 11-5, 11-5.  Pou-Tito surprised English professional player Charlotte Jagger, world ranked #104, in the semi final taking the win in 5 sets.  Palmer now has her name on the trophy for an impressive 6th time.

There was some great squash on display over the weekend with 94 players of all ages and abilities catered for.  In the Div 1 mens final Andrew Johnson edged out Maz Saunders, while in the Div 1 ladies, one of the giant killers of the weekend, Wellford’s Tamara Marshall, defeated Pippa Saunders in a close final.  Other division winners were Rowan Clift (Mens Div 2), Josh Smith (Mens Div 3), Ray Campbell (Mens Div 4), Cheyeanne Hill (Ladies Div 3), Natasha Cotton (Ladies Div 4) and junior division winner Revel Pederson.

Thanks to the Whangarei Squash club for hosting a great event.

Full Results

Mens Open

Winner  Gabe Yam

Runner Up Anthony Lepper

3rd Willz Donnelly

Womens Open

Winner Abbie Palmer

Runner Up Sacha Pou-Tito

3rd Charlotte Jagger

Mens Div 1

Winner Andrew Johnson

Runner-Up Maz Saunders

3rd Bryce Phillips

Mens Div 2

Winner Rowan Clift

Runner Up Russell Blomquist

3rd Craig Morgan

Mens Div 3

Winner Josh Smith

Runner Up Hayden Turner

3rd George Tepania

Mens Div 4

Winner Ray Campbell

Runner Up Matthew Came

3rd Spencer Morgan

Ladies Div 1/2

Winner Tamara Marshall

Runner Up Pippa Saunders

3rd Ruby Collins

Ladies Div 3

Winner Cheyeanne Hill

Runner Up Hayley Taylor

3rd Hayley Rhodes

Ladies Div 4

Winner Natasha Cotton

Runner Up Ange Vette

3rd Luisa Lueer

Junior Division

Winner Revel Pederson

Runner Up Amalia Ricketts

3rd Jay Mason