Squash recognised at Sport Northland award events

Posted: 06/11/19

Squash has won some of the major awards at the recent ASB Secondary Schools Awards as well as at the Kaipara Awards.

The Whangarei Girls High School Squash Team which won the national Secondary Schools Tournament for the first time ever,  took out Team of Year at the Secondary Schools Awards.  The team was Shea Ferguson, Pippa Saunders, Chelsea Traill, Ruby Collins, Amy Brown, Olivia Rhodes and Jordyn Chapman.

Riley-Jack Vette-Blomquist, who was selected to play for New Zealand at the World Junior tournament in Malaysia and is the New Zealand Under 17 boys champion was awarded the Sportsman of the Year.  Riley-Jack is also the Northland Junior Champion, represented Northland in both junior and senior teams this year.  Shea Ferguson and Riley-Jack took out the squash code awards.

Annmarie Holst won the Junior Sportswoman of the Year as well as the Sportswoman of the Year at the Kaipara Sports Awards.  Annmarie represented New Zealand for Under 19 girls at the annual Trans-Tasman test matches, is the Northland Junior Girls Champion, was part of the Northland Senior team and also the Northland Junior team.