Squash Northland Awards

Congratulations to all our 2018 winners and also to all those who were nominated by their clubs for awards

The 2018 Squash Northland Awards evening was held on Friday 16 November and once again this year was hosted by Whangarei Squash Club.  Awards and trophies were given to the interclub winners, Champion of Champion winners, Northland Junior, Master and Open champions and the National Champion of Champion winners.

The Special Award Winners were:

Most Improved Junior Male:               Freddie Jameson

Most Improved Junior Female:           Shea Ferguson

Most Improved Senior Male:               Mike Smith

Most Improved Senior Female:           Hazel Smith

Master of the Year:                                 Hongi Laing

Volunteer of the Year:                            Wayne Brown

Coach of the Year:                                   Nicol Bekker

Club of the Year:                                     Wellsford Squash Club

Team of the Year:                                   Parua Bay School Aims Games Team

Special Achievement Awards:  

Shelley Kitchen – 35+ NZ Ladies Masters Champion

Hongi Laing – 65+ NZ Mens Masters Champion

Freddie Jameson – Under 13 NZ Boys Champion

Olivia Rhodes – National D Grade Ladies Champion of Champions winner

Riley-Jack Vette-Blomquist – National B Grade Mens Champion of Champions winner

Our thanks to John Dykzeul for being our MC,  Whangarei Squash Club, Megan Turner and Vicki Ferguson in the bar and Zoe Dykzeul for putting together the photo slide show and taking photos on the night.